How to test?

hwe-support-status --verbose

Your Hardware Enablement Stack (HWE) is supported until April 2025.


Cool maps of what is supported kernel vs release  

The Ubuntu LTS enablement (also called HWE or Hardware Enablement) stacks provide newer kernel and X support for existing Ubuntu LTS releases. These enablement stacks can be installed manually but are also available when installing with Ubuntu LTS point release media. These newer enablement stacks are meant for desktop and server and even recommended for cloud or virtual images. However, if one wants to remain on the original GA (General Availability) stacks, the options are:

  • Install from a previous 12.04.0/12.04.1/14.04.0/14.04.1/16.04.0/16.04.1/18.04.0/18.04.1 point release and update. Previous releases are archived at

  • Perform an update or upgrade to an LTS release from a previous release.

  • Perform a network install using the netboot images rather than the new <release>-netboot images.

18.04 Server


 sudo apt-get install --install-recommends linux-generic-hwe-18.04 xserver-xorg-hwe-18.04 


 sudo apt-get install --install-recommends linux-generic-hwe-18.04

20.04 Server

Ubuntu 20 LTS – Focal Fossa

The 20.04.2 and newer point releases will ship with an updated kernel and X stack by default for the desktop. Server installations will default to the GA kernel and provide the enablement kernel as optional.

The 20.04 HWE Stacks will follow a new Rolling Update Model as documented at the following location:

Installing the HWE stack is simple:


 sudo apt-get install --install-recommends linux-generic-hwe-20.04 xserver-xorg-hwe-20.04 


 sudo apt-get install --install-recommends linux-generic-hwe-20.04 

Both WordPress servers are running:

Virtualization: vmware
Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS
Kernel: Linux 5.8.0-34-generic
Architecture: x86-64